Is Going to Disney Similar to Being Drafted?

This is a quick filler post that will hopefully make you smile. Or upset. Or both. I was reading this post on MSN about Disney considering raising their prices AGAIN, or rather implementing variable pricing model 

But the best part are the comments. Check out this interaction:

disney

Obviously, the guy is joking, and I happen to think it’s hilarious! But clearly, not everyone appreciates his sense of humor. Yes, the whole thing is totally politically incorrect, especially the comment about the English speaking people. Not sure what that was all about!

I actually wrote a post last year titled How to Survive Magic Kingdom It’s one of my most popular to date. But I wonder how many readers I’ve lost as a result…

13 thoughts on “Is Going to Disney Similar to Being Drafted?

  1. I think most (not all) people that are miserable at Disney World are doing it all wrong! 🙂 Don’t go for an entire week of non-stop trudging around the parks–it’s exhausting (especially in the heat of summer or in the most crowded time of the year, Christmas/New Years). Instead, plan for entire days where you skip the parks and relax at the hotel pool or do something else outside of the parks. Reserve rides with Fast Pass + and make lunch reservations so that you can get off your feet and sit inside an air conditioned building for a while. Research on various websites to determine which parks are less crowded each day. Or better yet, skip the parks and go on a relaxing Disney Cruise (my favorite!)

    Like

    • Shoesinks, I agree! With some research, it’s totally possible to have an enjoyable experience. Honestly, I look forward to going back, we just can’t afford it right now. I did think this guy was pretty funny! 🙂

      Like

    • @Shoesinks I totally agree! I almost didn’t include it for that reason. Not sure what he meant. Hopefully, it was all part of the whole “politically incorrect ” theme he was trying to get across. He was talking about shooting at dolls too! Totally inappropriate.
      But yes, you have a point there. I don’t ever want to excuse any kind of prejudice. Hopefully, he was joking.

      Like

  2. We have two kids, ages 4 and 7, and have yet to do Disney. I just can’t swallow $400 in tickets plus the cost of food, parking, etc. Just seems like way too much for one day of fun. I have friends that have passes, and they seem to go weekly. To each his own.

    Like

    • @Jennifer My kids love Disney, and I’m sure we will go back at some point. But yes, it is quite expensive. Getting Florida resident 3-day passes in the winter helps since it cuts the cost per day significantly. Of course, there is parking, food and toys. The cost adds up, but it is such a fun place for kids. Just don’t go in the summer.

      Like

  3. Not planning for Disney is like inviting 300 of your closest friends and family, and 300 monkeys to a beautiful wedding, but giving the wrong address to the humans, and giving the right address to the monkeys. You would still spend a bunch of money but it would be chaos and stinky smells.

    So yeah, that’s the feeling of standing in the Magic Kingdom parking lot, realizing you have to reenact the entire book of Exodus to get to the actual Magic Kingdom.

    Having said that, I am glad I got most of my Disney obsession out of my system when:

    1. My daughter was free (before she turned three). We only paid for 3 but got value for all four of us as are 2 year old loved it.
    2. I was able to use about $1500 in signup bonuses (2x Barclaycards, and a Cap One Card) to buy the tickets and an annual pass. Which meant no parking costs.
    3. Used the aforementioned cards’ points to purchase cheaper tickets on undercover tourist.
    4. I lived close enough to drive, and bring a cooler full of prepared meals for in and outside of the park. Yes, I consider Cincinnati close enough to drive. Central Wisconsin? Not so much.
    5. I split pretty low yearly maintenance fees for a timeshare I share with another couple, so was able to stay in the equivalent of an apartment at a resort for very cheap.

    So, yes, if people have the equivalent of a 300 monkey wedding, and spend through the nose to do, I can see why they complain. But, there’s an easy solution. Just send the invites to the right people. In the case of Disney: Just. Plan.

    Like

    • @Cheapblackdad Only you could come up with this sort of analogy! And who invites 300 guests to a wedding? That’s the opposite of cheap.
      I agree with you, planning for Disney is crucial. That’s the message of my post on Magic Kingdom. I’m sure that’s not how it came across, but I thought it was an upbeat post. I don’t know why Disney doesn’t want to partner with my blog? 🙂
      I think miles and points can absolutely make Disney experience relatively affordable. Like you said, you can use travel rebate bonuses for tickets, hotel points for lodging etc. I honestly want everyone to experience Disney at least once, but put thought and preparation into it. Otherwise, you may dump a huge amount of money and get very little return (enjoyment) as a result. It can be stressful/extremely expensive if you go about it wrong. My mom really loved it, though! I’m so happy we got to take her there. Amazingly, the weather was OK in June, we definitely lucked out on that one.

      Like

  4. Planning is the key – and there are so many sites out there to help with that aspect. We went for the first time this year during Spring Break. Like Cheapblackdad, we drove from Cincinnati. With the traffic and construction, it was a bit more grueling than I had remembered past road trips to Florida – or maybe I’ve just been spoiled by flying 2m miles in planes over the last 15 years. I bought 10-day no expiration tickets right before Disney stopped selling them, because with two small girls I knew for sure that we will probably visit 10 days before they are teenagers. Besides protecting myself against future price increases, I also didn’t want the pressure of having to use a multi-day ticket within a short timeframe. I had no idea what their stamina might be. We were in Florida from Sunday to Saturday. The first couple of days we did some things around Tampa like Weeki Wachee mermaids, Clearwater aquarium, etc. that I knew my girls would enjoy. Then we headed over to Orlando and had a pool day at our off-site resort. We were well-rested for the Magic Kingdom on Wednesday and arrived around rope-drop time. Met nearly all the princesses and rode the must-do rides. My girls ran out of gas around 10PM (thankfully we had rented a double-stroller!).Thursday was another pool day with a little mini-golf. Friday we went back to the Magic Kingdom and hit some of the rides that we had missed the previous day (and re-rode some favorites). Saw Wishes and we were gone about the same time. The touring plans that we used helped immensely and we really didn’t have many long waits (long meaning more than 30 minutes). Which honestly surprised me because the crowd levels were rated at 8 and 9. My girls had a great time. We are recently fortunate in Cincinnati that two discount airlines (Frontier and Allegiant) now fly direct to Orlando for cheap. I took advantage of a cheap fare sale to go back the following month for a 4-day weekend to visit Hollywood Studios on Saturday and Animal Kingdom/Epcot on Monday, with a pool day on Sunday. The crowds were a little lighter but again the touring plans were valuable to having a good overall experience. Did we see everything? No, but we saw the majority of what we wanted to see and that’s OK. I think the people that don’t have fun just try to do too much and possibly get stressed out about it. A vacation is supposed to be a relaxing time. I would definitely NOT be relaxed if I went to the Disney parks 5 days in a row and tried to ride everything/meet all the characters. The way I see it, the point is to have fun and realize that you can always go back. It might be a challenge from a cost perspective, but that’s where miles/points and cheap fares come into play. Disney World is not going anywhere.

    Like

    • @Erik Man, those Disney posts generate a ton of discussion. I should do those more often, though, perhaps, skip the offensive internet rants!
      I’m so glad my post on Magic Kingdom didn’t scare you. My purpose was actually to encourage people to do research and avoid summer. Especially the last one. I’m glad you went during spring, very smart.
      With two small girls, I bet they loved it! The first time we took my daughter, she was 2.5 years old (free). She was so excited, she threw a fit when we took her back to the car. She was screaming “Take me back to…” and then she stopped mid-sentence. I looked back, and she fell asleep. It’s honestly one of my favorite memories for some reason. That girl has chutzpah galore!
      I think what you said sums it up: Plan, try not to overdo it, and don’t go in the summer. Oh, and use miles and points to cut costs. Let’s face it, most of us will be going to Disney, we might as well try to enjoy it.

      Like

    • I always tell people the main reason we enjoy ourselves there is “We never approach it like we won’t ever be back.” It’s like golfing. The more you press, the worse you play. Relax, be deliberate, and respect your limits.

      Like

  5. Pingback: No, I Do Not Hate Disney | Miles For Family

Leave a Reply

