A Question For My Readers

The whole point of my blog is to hopefully make it easier for readers to navigate this (at times) confusing hobby. But today I’m doing something different. I actually need your help. I don’t know if anyone has an experience with this type of situation. If so, please, chime in. I did research and couldn’t find any definitive answer. I even reached out to a few bloggers, and they weren’t sure either.

So, here is the question from one of my readers via email:

“Maybe you can even tackle this one in a post, since I haven’t really seen comprehensive coverage on the issue. Say, I have a business (which I do, though it’s a DBA and not a corporation). When applying for a business credit card for this business, I must tie it to my personal credit file. 
So, can more than one person apply for the same or different business credit card for the same business? Myself and my wife, for instance, both applying for Ink Plus for the same business. I’m guessing no, but haven’t been able to find a definite answer.
Or how about me applying for a Chase business card and my wife for an AMEX, but for the same business?
How do banks verify that the business you put down an application is real? Is there a national registry they check with?”
So, I know they can easily apply for cards from different banks. What I’m not sure about is how this situation would be handled if they both applied for the same card/same bank/same business.
Anyone has any first-hand experience? Please, comment or email me. Thanks!

6 thoughts on “A Question For My Readers

  1. Yes, my husband and I double dip on our cards all the time, including our business cards. We both have the same cards/same bank/same business with Amex, Chase, BOA, etc. No problem. We use our business tax id number on the application. Each credit line is separate. Just make sure you don’t add an employee to one application and you actually fill out two applications.

    Like

Leave a comment